The Classroom Environment by @Mroberts90Matt

Context

So, summer has officially come. All schools are now devoid of their young learners until September. This means that the onus is on me as the incoming NQT to go into school during August to set up my classroom. How much time will I need? What are the vital things that will need to be present in the physical make up of the classroom I’ll be teaching in the next 10 months?

small__3844681997

Development

I have a number of key aspects in my mind that I want to transfer to the walls of the classroom. One thing that I feel strongly about is having a problem solving area on a Numeracy board, a place where the children can challenge themselves at any time. The rest of the board will have helpful information to support knowledge and understanding in the topic we are working on at the time.

I want a word wall. It’s something which I saw in another classroom which I thought was a great idea. I do think, however, that I need to have the definition of the words displayed with them. I will be working in a school where most of the children speak English as an Additional Language and, whilst they all speak English fairly fluently, it will still be important to support their understanding.

Of course, there’ll be the usual space for children to display their work and take pride in their accomplishments. This will hopefully encourage them to put more effort into their work. Beyond these I’m still thinking over what else to display. I’ll need to go in over the next week or so to see what I’m working with now that the previous class teacher will have vacated the room.

Doubts

However, sometimes I can’t help but feel that all this preparation may be little wasted. Okay, if Ofsted walk through the door they will expect to see the learning environment used effectively that can support the learning that goes on. As a result, the school leadership will want to see the room displays are put to good use.

And yet, how much of these displays will the children use? I suppose a big part of that will indeed be how effective my organisation is and the quality of the display choices. Even then, it will also be important to make sure that there is not an overload. If there is too much going on in the displays then it will become difficult for the children to pick out the information they need at that time.

Moving Forward

So, it looks like my next couple of weeks will be spent on Pinterest trying to gather ideas. It will be important to recognise that the physical learning environment I create for my class will not necessarily be perfect to begin with. However, with consistent assessment with the children, I can then develop those areas so that they serve the purposes of the individuals they are there for, the children.

small__303144538

photo credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/venosdale/3844681997/”>venspired</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a>%5D

photo credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/perspicacious/303144538/”>LizMarie_AK</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

One thought on “The Classroom Environment by @Mroberts90Matt

Leave a Reply

