10 points to Gryffindor! by @Mroberts90Matt

A brand new year, a brand new start. In our school we have a new Senior Leadership Team with a new Head and Deputy. It has been great so far and I’m personally happy with how things are going in the classroom. My class (predominately boys) are responding really well to our Behaviour Management system (Class Dojo – would recommend) and my TA and I are very well organised at present.

As with new beginnings there will be new initiatives school-wide. In our school we have now adopted a House System. When this was first suggested by our new Head, I couldn’t help thinking of the popular story ‘Harry Potter’ and the houses that were in the school, Hogwarts. I pictured myself in a robe taking house points off some meddlesome children who were lurking around our Forbidden Corridor where a great, big machine waits to gobble up small children (otherwise known as the photocopier).

7324229616_c425df2e88_n

Not one to dwell on sterotypes for too long, I have embraced this new idea with relative optimism. In fact, I more than embraced it, I wrapped my arms around it as I volunteered to be one of six Head of Houses! As far as I understand my role is to motivate and inspire the children in Dunham House to be their very best and aim to win the House Cup. I also have to give an assembly once a half term – slightly scary as it was my first assembly but it went well.

My impressions so far of the house system? I’m actually quite impressed by the impact that it’s had in such a short time. This was especially clear after the House Assemblies. When we returned to the classroom the class were so engaged and ready to learn. Last Friday the first weekly winners of the House Trophy were announced and children from Year 1-Year 6 celebrated their victory which was a brilliant sight (our house was 5 points behind in 2nd but it was still good!) I think like most new things it will take time to see the extent of this new system.

As it turns out, it is possible to look at an example where the House system seems to be making a difference. In the current TV series ‘Educating Cardiff’, it is there for all national television viewing audiences to see. We are introduced to four houses in the Welsh high school which seems to work in a similar fashion, a Head of House with a student House Captain and competing to win the most House Points. There does seem to be more of a pastoral role involved too which hasn’t entered our House System (I’m not sure if that is the end goal or if that is more for a high school system).

Does your school have a House System? If not, are there any other ways that your school builds links between Year Groups? Would it be something you would like your school to try out?

Leave a Reply

